A Fresh Taste of Minnnow in The Job Market Sea

This week, I got a new job. I’m overjoyed because, obvviously, my weeks filled with the hard work of swimming and searching within the job market have finally given me a bite. This particular line and reel is extremely appealing because it’s something I’m really good at and something I enjoy. I was squealing and bouncing more than usual on I’m signed on as an independent contractor, so I can work as many part-time and full-time hours as I want as long as there’s work that keeps popping up on the screen for me to do.

You’re curious as to what this tasty job is that I’ve snatched up? Well, along with being hired, the boss asked me to sign a waiver. After reading and listening to his reasoning, I did; this waiver asks that I not tell anyone the particulars of this program I’m working with. Because this program is what’s made the guy and his son their living and because it’s spread all over the Internet, he asks I not blurt and make him lose the edge he’s got.

Having clarified that, we’re paid to make sure sites show up better in search results. I work a lot with synonyms and, in extension, a thesaurus. So if I come up with a funny thought that originates from work, it’s probably from the work of synonyms and the word-puzzle nature that my work is.

I’m not sure whether I’ll keep working the testing center; I really like this job. I’ll have to see when school comes around how easy this job comes to me. I’ll only be taking 12 credits, provided I don’t have to pick up any more last-minute classes for graduation; I always have to leave room for me time and the crashes into my subconscious that always come toward the end of the week. Ah, the balance of time.

The good thing about this job is that I can do it at home on my laptop (and thus anywhere I might take my laptop) or in the office. The office is in downtown Ogden in a gorgeous Registered Historic Building; the bus ride is short with no transfers; and the walk is enjoyable because it’s downtown and there are so many things to look at. Yet when we move from Ogden, I can keep the job and work it as long as I want. I have a minimum of hours I have to work, of course, but it’s perfect for this lifestyle of life transitions I’m living now.

Needless to say, I’m excited.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 26, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

