Materialism, Age, and Coattails

Just’In and I just got back from a road trip through Washington and Oregon with my in-laws. Entertaining, surprisingly enough, mainly because we were just along for the ride and because Dad and Joyce are pleasant travelling companions.

A few highlights from the trip:

At one point, we were driving through a town when a shop on a corner caught our eyes; “Stuff and Things”. It was empty.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We visited Crater Lake. I grumbled slightly because of all the snow still there, but the thing to note was at the very small visitor’s center. We bought a postcard for my boss who hangs them on the wall at work and a bookmark. I told the lady at the counter, just casually, that my boss collected postcards.

“You can’t work.”
Just’In and I just kind of look at each other, “Um, why not?”
“You’re too young. You’re like, fourteen, fifteen years old.”

I then told her that I am in fact, twenty-two, and she was incredulous. I told her I go to college and work on campus. She just couldn’t believe it. We laughed as she asked the park ranger who walked behind the counter to guess how old I was.

“Oh. no. I’m not even going to try. I’m not a good judge in age,” he said.

We grinned as we walked out to the car. I didn’t tell her I was married to the guy who was standing next to me. That would have been too much for the poor girl.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One of the many stops we made was at the Oasis Bordello Mueseum is Wallace, Idaho. It was Joyce’s choice, but I became quickly fascinated by the stories and the details there. After the tour was done, we went down to the basement; we’d heard it was also really fascinating. The coolest thing in the basement, though, was that a lot of the clothes used in the bordello were for sale. I honestly didn’t think I’d find anything, but I was wrong. The ground floor of the bordello was a bar, and in the rack of clothes as a grey jacket of coattails. The coattails remind me vividly of Andy from our high school theatre department. I always envied Andy of her coattails and hightops that I had to have this jacket as soon as I found it. I also bought a funny dark blue/purple pitcher in one of the many antique shops that litter the Northwest, and two hats from a hatshop in Leavenworth.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 14, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  2. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  3. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  4. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  5. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

  6. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  7. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  8. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  9. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  10. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  11. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  12. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  13. I get that a lot too, it’s pretty amusing. Usually people think I’m about 14 or 15 as well, but I’m about to turn 20. I think it’s just being short and quite thin that throws most people off.

    • Well, yeah, we are short and thin, but J and I both look really young in facial structure. He’s grown a goatee to make him ook a little older because he doesn’t want to look as old as his students when he teaches HS. Me, I figure I’ll appreciate looking young when I’m about forty and all the other girls are complaining about wrinkles and crow’s feet and discolouration and such.

  14. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  15. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  16. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  17. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  18. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  19. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

  20. congrats on the job hun!! it sounds like a great one. yay!

Leave a Reply

