Sharing The Amusement

As a contrast to my last post here, and as proof that my lightheartedness has returned, here’s a link to another blog I found in my wanderings today. I love the second half of her post entitled “Penelope Tree”.

My wow moment of the week occurred on the bus. I sat in a seat that is in front of a large round mirror hung at an angle from the ceiling. The mirror serves some purpose for the driver, I’m sure, but in sitting in that seat, the mirror reflected from its angle a full view of me. Since it was just outside my range of detail-seeing, the mirror reflected a small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat. This view of mine only lastd for a minute or two because the bus ride isn’t very long, but it struck the same note as Ezra Pound’s poem:

In a Station of The Metro

The apparition of these faces in the crowd;
Petals on a wet, black bough.

This poem will have its place on a wall of mine in vinyl letters one day. Along with W. Carlos Williams’ The Red Wheelbarrow. On seperate walls, of course. With different colors and fonts and such.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on March 10, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  2. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  3. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  4. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  5. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  6. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  7. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  8. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  9. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  10. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  11. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.

    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  12. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.
    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

  13. And it’s that “small pale face looking up surrounded by a mass of red hair and a background of dark blue trenchcoat” that I love. She’s prettier in real life than in a reflection, though.
    And along with those poems, I’d like to add “The Tables Turned” by William Wordsworth, if I may.

Leave a Reply

