Essence and Countenance

A girl just walked in here to take a test. I glanced to make sure she really was there and to make sure I didn’t know her. Then I glanced again.

She has no recognizable makeup on and her hair is simply pulled out of her face; she’s wearing a red sweater with a white undershirt, dark jeans and white flats. Nothing out-of-the-ordinary, and yet she has a contagious smile and she’s absolutely striking. It might be the way she carries herself or because she’s got a figure like me: trim and petite. I don’t know exactly why, but my eyes followed her everywhere I went.

This girl reminds me that beauty can be found in simple essence. Not necessarily in clothes or appearance, but on the inside. She’s just so striking, and there was else nothing out of the ordinary about her. It makes me wonder two things: whether I knew her before this life, and whether I have that same presence. It’s admirable, but I don’t think it’s something that can be cultured consciously. It also makes me realize why Just’In sees me in plain t-shirt and jeans and thinks I’m gorgeous. This might be why. He sees my essence and my countenance, not what I’m wearing. I feel humbled.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on February 20, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. SA
    Your cool Kaya. I love you!
    Sophie Ann

Leave a Reply

