Tidbits: A Letter And A Character

To certain managers/owners of certain establishments:

You really ought to shovel the sidewalk in front of your business. To do so gains the respect and admiration of those who reside around your business because they see your consideration for your property and their safety. Plus, it makes your property look neater.

Respectfully,
A Frequent Pedestrian

~~~~~~~~~~

My math professor is a character. You wouldn’t expect math professors to be this way, as Math is considered a purely practical subject and thus its experts to be rather normal-looking. Not so in this case. She dresses in funky t-shirts you would find at threadless.com and other such places, often worn over long sleeved shirts of contrasting colors and lengths. She wears shoes kinda like these;
Her winter coats include a black-and-white-checkered bulky sweater with a zip-off hood, and a black quilted overcoat. She wears ripped jeans down the back that manage not to show any skin, too. In essence, she dresses like a teenage punk, and yet her speaking style sounds a lot like Bobby’s mom on Bobby’s World, (isaidello can do the voice perfectly) with very rounded vowels and everything has an O sound to it. Her body type is unusual as well: she has small breasts with which she doesn’t wear a bra (but it’s not disturbing as you think it might be) but she has a broad upper back, manageable love handles, and something which might resemble a beer belly. Paired with the long brown hair that goes to mid-elbow-and shoulder and is radically cut to a point, I think she’s awesome. This last class I chatted with her about the injustices of the dentist’s office. AND she writes down everything, is perfectly audible, and is very approachable as an educator, so she’s a compatible math professor for me. Yep. Defintely awesome.

And seeing all this in a classroom where the front wall is painted a very chic sage green but is curved away from the straight chalkboard like this: )I , makes for a stimulating setting, even if it is math.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 23, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  2. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  3. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  4. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  5. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

  6. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  7. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  8. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  9. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  10. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  11. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?

    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.

      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  12. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?
    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.
      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

  13. Oh yeah, that’s how they talk in Wiskahnson, doncha know?
    He he he, Hunter *hates it* when I do that voice. Which makes it even funnier. Tee hee.

    • Wisconsin, huh? I once had a roomie from there, but she didn’t have the accent.
      The prof is even cooler. I found out today she’s a painter, she bought the shirt she was wearing today at Hot Topic, she’s been appointed to something like the knowledgable person of activities by the university, and that she’s in the process of making a painting with ASL signs in it and she asked me what certain signs are.

    • Of course, I hate it when Just’In does his Smeagle voice and his terrific gorilla/monkey impression. But it makes him all the more talented.

Leave a Reply

