Self-Appearance and Subsequent Compliments

In the last week or so, I’ve had several comments about myself been offered as compliments. It’s interesting to examine my self-image, physically and otherwise, and see what bounces back from other people as a reflection.

From a first in-office interview with a professor who will be receiving, reading, and critiquing a portfolio of my writing:
“You’re very vibrant and enthusiastic.”

From a gathering of ladies who are visiting local authority, after a meeting in church:
“I missed your braids. (to others) She was wearing braids at the last meeting I was in.”
(to others, in front of me) “She wears the darlingest clothes. She has some of the coolest things.”

From a lady who wanted me to actively contribute to her lesson; she called me yesterday to ask me to do so:
“You’re so darling. You’ll be so cute.”

Cute. I hate being called cute. I’ve avoided dressing, sounding or appearing cute for as long as I can remember. It’s just such a general term; it’s used to describe babies, pets, inanimate objects, and almost everything else imaginable. Couldn’t you use something a little more descriptive? And yet, even at age 22, I’m still referred to as “cute”. There is only one person who is allowed to call me cute, and it’s only because he’s my husband. And even then I will scowl. Which he will then call cute.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 14, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

  2. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

  3. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

  4. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

  5. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

  6. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

    • But it’s not supposed to be cute! It’s supposed to be grumbly and frustrated-like.

      I do admit, however, that occasionally I do it just to make whatever crease might be in his brow to disappear.

  7. But Vibrant and Enthusiastic are good!!

  8. But Vibrant and Enthusiastic are good!!

  9. But Vibrant and Enthusiastic are good!!

  10. But Vibrant and Enthusiastic are good!!

  11. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

  12. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

  13. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

  14. I get called cute all the time. It is very annoying. However, I think that most mean do it just to get us to do the scowl, which they really do fine cute. Actually, now that I think about it, just about every guy I’ve ever dated has done that to me. *scowls*

Leave a Reply

