Another Adventure For Us

In addition to getting locked out Christmas Eve, our car broke down coming back from the Christmas party at Just’In’s fambly’s house.

It was quite a turn of events. We had someone pull over behind us soon after it broke, but Just’In told them we’d be fine because he thought I had my grandparents’ number memorized. He expected to call them and we would be saved, but didn’t realise that I thought we could call them but didn’t have their number memorized offhand. So, Just’In handed me the keys (which doesn’t make sense; I wouldn’t be able to drive even if I could) and his cell phone and dove out into the cold to go get oil for the car. He then walked an equivalent of a few blocks ahead when a van pulled over and picked him up.

A State Trooper then pulled right behind me and asked me what was wrong; he got a few basic peices of info like our names and dates of birth, address and phone number (anyone know why?). He then told me he’d wait with me, each in our separate vehicles, to make sure we were all right.

I sat in the slowly freezing car, pretty cozy because of all my layers, until I got a phone call. It was Just’In, calling from the cell phone of the couple that picked him up, just to tell me they’d been to all the gas stations and have a tow line and were coming back. I then told the trooper behind me and he told me he’d stick around to the bitter end. Well, these weren’t his exact words, but his words made a girl alone in the dark and cold feel a lot safer.

Just’In did soon come back in a van with a kind, older guy and the couple with two kids in car seats. Apparantly the older guy was the father of the mom there and knows quite a bit about cars and towing. He thought it wasn’t a problem with the oil but something else entirely. We watched him connect the tow mechanism to both cars, then hopped in the driver seat of our little car.

I hopped in the back of the warm van as I’d been sitting in a cold car; Just’In sat in the passenger seat of our car. The van then towed us home, with the husband talking on the cell phone with his father-in-law behind him in the driver’s seat of our car and alternately to me. It was very confusing who he was talking to at all of those times, but they knew where our apartment complex was and got our car and thus all our Christmas stuff and us to the parking lot safely.

It figures our car broke down on Christmas Day when no convenience stores are open. Good thing it wasn’t the oil malfunctioning after all, and the second group of people were related to a car repair man who could come so willingly and cheerfully.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 26, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  2. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  3. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  4. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  5. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  6. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  7. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  8. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  9. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  10. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  11. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  12. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

  13. what a crazy christmas eve. But at least you had people who would help! (thats 3 I counted – including the person who stopped first and left)
    I think the trooper took that info because its required anytime they make a stop? Possibly because he was matching the names to the registration as well. (while in his car) But I’m happy he stayed with you even after you told him help was on the way. You never know what could happen. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

