Lessons To Be Reminded Of and a Surprise Present

I got locked out of my apartment on Christmas Eve this year. I just didn’t think to put my keys in my pocket when I left for our choir performance at church; I remembered my birth control to take later that day, but considering Just’In used his own keys to start the car to get us there, I simply didn’t think of it.

I’ve brought my keys to church on other Sundays Just’In has had to leave church to get to work, but I think this Sunday threw me off because we only held Sacrament meeting instead of the usual three one-hour blocks, so I didn’t bring my Sunday bag with my scriptures, manuals, chapstick, pens and paper, and the like. The bag might have reminded me to bring my keys.

I realized I had forgotten my keys right when I stepped into the lobby of our apartment complex from my ride. I smacked my forehead with the realization of stupidity and kept walking into the complex, where I rang the manager’s doorbell several times; however, it’s Christmas Eve and a Sunday and I didn’t expect them to be home.

Fortunately, the winter sun shines right on my apartment for several hours a day, and so I sat on my doorstep against the measly slab of wood that was the only things that seperated me from inside. I reasoned, however, that the wall I was leaning against was probably warmer than my apartment at the moment. I napped there in heels and a skirt and tights, in the sun.

When the sun drifted down below walls and eaves, I went and talked to my neighbor for awhile. She’s a little old lady who will be ninety next year and who is lots of fun to talk to. She kicked me out a while later because she had to go to the bathroom, so I walked around the complex for awhile and then sat in the lobby and watched for Just’In’s car to pull into the parking lot driveway. And eventually, it did.

This experience reminded me of a few things, one not being to remember my keys because I’ve always been somewhat forgetful and experiences like this won’t change that fact. I did re-learn that I’ve been one who can simply be entertained by my own thoughts. I can sit and think for hours and look like I’m not doing anything. Indeed, I don’t need to do anything; thus, I didn’t need a TV, a book, a computer, or even someone else. I only need to be environmentally comfortable, warm or cool, whatever the weather; yes, the ground was uncomfortable to my bum as it was slighly cold and very hard, but (that’s something else I was reminded of) I really can fall asleep anywhere. I did nap like a cat in the sunshine sitting against my door for awhile in heels and a skirt.

Thus, whether putting me in my bedroom to “think about what I had done” was effective as a kid is debateable; I did sometimes feel genuine guilt and remorse for whatever I had done, but eventually, my thoughts wander to other places as I continue to sit there for an hour longer than everyone else who had been sent to their room (It ewas usually a group effort, whatever we’d done) and when I could hear their play outside my room, it snapped me out of my own thoughts and let me know that the parental unit declared the punishment completed.

Nevertheless, Just’In eventually came home, and we had an enjoyable Chritmas Eve. And for Christmas, I got a new laptop. I’ve sorely needed one, just because the physicalities of it were breaking down. The screen no longer stood up by itself, the letters on the keys were all worn off, and the touchpad would malfunction every once in awhile. I wasn’t complaining, since the laptop was free from NM Commission for the Blind four years ago and the inside all still ran nicely, but I have a husband who takes care of me and who managed it nicely without putting us in debt.

Hooray!

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 25, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  2. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  3. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  4. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  5. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

  6. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  7. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  8. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  9. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

    • I actually waited for five and a half hours, I think. Pretty long, and only the last hour or so dragged on… A lot like work, actually…The last half hour is the most torturous.

  10. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

  11. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

  12. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

  13. Your story stressed me out and I wan’t the one locked out! I’m glad you didn’t have to wait….a really really long time.
    Yay new lap top! *dances* New computers are always nice lol.

Leave a Reply

