To The Driver In The Car That Was Inches Away From Hitting Me At The Intersection:

If it takes hitting a pedestrian to teach you not to hit pedestrians who have the right of way, then so be it. Your left-assist arrow was way past green, in case you didn’t notice, and you should have stopped at the white line to let me through. You did not have to follow the car in front of you through my white blinking man. I’m sure it gave you quite a scare to slam on your brakes, but you can’t use the excuse that it was dark because I have a nice big white and black-striped shirt on with a bright red hat to accompany it. You’ll notice I was yelling at the cars ahead of you whom you were following while I was walking along my merry way; I didn’t stop walking just because you were in the path to hit me. I merely kept going, glaring at where your head should have been, only stepping around the place your tire would have been a few inches ahead from where you stopped. I’m not afraid of being hit by cars, and considering your tiny car only goes up to my shins even though I’m short, I’m sure it would have done a little damage and made you learn your lesson even more. If I have to teach all of Ogden to obey their stop lights and give pedestrians their rights person by person, including but not beginning with you, then it shall be my calling, confound it.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 12, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  2. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  3. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  4. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  5. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  6. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  7. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  8. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

    • It IS sad. And it’s probably run because someone’s loved one died while walking on the street and that someone complained enough to the government. Or sued them for not campaigning.

  9. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

  10. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

  11. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

  12. I am so glad you werent hit. maybe a close call will teach that driver a lesson!!!
    (theres a commercial now about watching for pedestrians in the road that runs on the weekends and prime time here in NM lol. It makes me giggle to myself. Its so sad they need to run a commercial to tell people not to hit pedestrians)

  13. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  14. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  15. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  16. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  17. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  18. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  19. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  20. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  21. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  22. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.

      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  23. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.
      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

  24. bah! I hate cars (I’m sure you know this), it detaches peope from their surroundings– sort of. Anyway, I’ve had what happened to you happen to me so many times. I do the same, just stare down the driver and keep walking. I think it’s a good tactic. But one time I was so frustrated that I smacked the hood of the car, the driver jumped and yelled an apoogy… hmm. Keep walking around! it’s how we’re meant to get around.

    • Walking and riding the bus is how I get around as I can’t drive because I’m blind. I’ve banged someone’s hood too, but I just got a scowl from the driver for that.
      I’ve also had this happen to me lots of times, especially at this particular intersection. The funny thing is when they honk at you. Like I’m going to move faster just because you have a machine that makes noise??

Leave a Reply

