A Slight Obsession

I love the closing phrases on letters. You know, the place most people just automatically put “Sincerely”. I don’t know if that thing actually has a name. This is a moment when I wish Mrs. Boggess, my high school mentor and English teacher, was around.

Most people put “Sincerely”… this is ridiculous, because you can put anything you want there. That’s the biggest area of feeling in any kind of letter. Even in a regimented business letter, you can state how you feel toward the person with that one word and get away with it; however, if you say, “Jokingly” or “Mockingly”, you probably won’t get the job, unless you’re a comedian or a clown or a carnival mirror.

My peak at using creative closing adverbs would be in the letters Just’In and I wrote back and forth while we were dating and engaged. My favorite part of the whole letter was choosing what to put on that last line before my name; I’ve kept all those letters. I suppose it’s just reminiscent of the lines in the love letters between Abigail and John in the musical 1776: “I am and will always be yours, yours, yours.” It gives me chills. I’m a girl, what can I say?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 2, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  2. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  3. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  4. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  5. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  6. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  7. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  8. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  9. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  10. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  11. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

  12. It’s called a “complimentary closing,” I think.

Leave a Reply

