The Dryad’s Insight: Weeping Trees and Aspens

The weeping willow tree in our courtyard was being especially beautiful this morning. Some of the branches have turned yellow, but some have stayed green, and there was a slight breeze in the air. Altogether gorgeous weather, but apparantly it’ll snow tomorrow. The sun hits my bed as I’m doing homework at about ten o’clock, and when it’s shining through the leaves that are swaying, it makes a lovely light effect. This is the tree’s song before the Cold Season. I doubt there’s a dryad in this tree or I’d have some kind of a connection to it. Perhaps it’s had a bit of the old soul of a willow dryad sung into it, and today was the day that dryad claimed it, called the bit of soul back, for her hibernation.

This incident is unusual because I don’t connect with that tree very well. Weeping willows and weeping birches are the celebrities of the tree world; they’re incredibly high maintenance and popular with all the humans around them. They have annoying laughs and snore when they hibernate. They rarely say anything intelligent. They’re different from aspens in that aspens are just ditzy but still loveable. Aspens still say something useful albeit extremely romantic every now and then, even though they’re somewhat vain. But I admired the celebrity today; I’m entitled to do that every once in a while.

To my fellow writers: yes, this is a bit of the world of my newest story that’s been rolling around in my brain. You can borrow bits if you like, I suppose, because that’s what writers do, but please don’t steal the whole premise from me.

There. I’ve allowed myself enough distraction. Back to homework, though I’m glad class was cancelled today.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on November 8, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. You imagination is amazing!

  2. You imagination is amazing!

  3. You imagination is amazing!

  4. You imagination is amazing!

  5. You imagination is amazing!

  6. You imagination is amazing!

  7. You imagination is amazing!

  8. You imagination is amazing!

  9. You imagination is amazing!

  10. You imagination is amazing!

  11. You imagination is amazing!

  12. You imagination is amazing!

  13. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  14. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  15. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  16. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  17. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  18. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  19. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  20. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  21. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  22. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)

    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.

    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.

    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.

    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.

    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.

      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.

      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  23. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)
    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.
    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.
    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.
    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.
    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.
      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.
      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

  24. I love my tree (yes, that means you!)
    The trees here are certainly preparing for a long winter ahead, but the colors are brilliant in a way that is so very New England. I will try to take pictures before it all disappears, but I fear it may be too late. My courtyard last night was a giant puddle hidden beneath a layer of orange and yellow oak leaves. Pretty to look at, not so fun to walk through in heels.
    I miss you. I have been feeling quiet and listless lately, but ready for some new adventure. Perhaps it is a hint of inspiration from the recent election. You know how I am about politics.
    I have a paper to write and all I want to do is play dress up and read Shakespeare until my eyes fall out. Or I get tired and fall asleep. Whichever comes first. Do you ever have nights like that? I met with my acting teacher tonight, and she says that I have lots of natural talent, I just need to get out of my own way and let it happen.
    I think that’s the best advice I’ve had in forever.
    Sorry, long, random, kind of incoherent. Things I could have said in my journal, yes, but I wanted to say them to you, and thus here they live. *blows a kiss and skips away into the night*

    • Oh, Jennykins, I love you too, especially on a niht that I made dinner for just me (because I was craving waffles) and Just’In’s got a weird work meeting that he won’t get home from until late.
      That is realy good advice. And I do have nights like that. There’s something romantic in falling asleep on top of the covers with a book folded open to the page you were on right before you drifted off with the lamp still on and your hair flowing all over the bedspread. I still do get nights like that, though not nearly as often because there is someone who shares my bed and keeps an eye on me to catch me before I fall asleep because he knows he’ll have to move me. Silly boy.
      I want to get my camera out as well, but the pressing matters of homework don’t let me. There’s a staircase next to the performing arts building that has pink and red rained-on leaves pressed onto the stairs just so. I had my parents ship me their old classic camera with that picture in mind. And there’s a sidewalk with lots of different colored leaves scattered all over it that I want to capture as well.

Leave a Reply

