The Name Game

I feel the need to post about names of kids. I’ve been making lists of names I might name my future children; this is spawned partly because I work with people’s names at work so I run into unusual ones a lot, partly because the promise of children is much more realistic now that I have someone who genuinely wants to father them, and partly because I’m a girl and I do stuff like this. I’ve found I’m attracted to unusual names like Azemina, Elon, Lael, Perri, Callinta, and Aurian, along with names like Adair, Elise, Tage, Wesley, Brinn, Marcy, Emily, Leslie, and Ainsley. Some of these names might belong in the list of names for characters and not on the list for children. Does anyone have any opinions about giving your kid unusual names that will be mispronounced, misread, and asked to spell all their lives, as opposed to kids who might be one of many in the same class? I know my parents chose a middle road; All of our names are nt too terribly common, like John, Justin, or Jennifer, but are known enough that people aren’t asking us constantly how tospell them. Of course, this is an age where children’s names have creative spellings, but my only inkling toward that is with the name Jennie/Genny, and that’s only because I still have a bit of the obsessive tendency toward isaidello, though it’s not nearly as bad as it was Senior year. Well, and I have a great-grandmother Jennie who I admire.

Any opinions? Comments either way? And no, I’m not pregnant and am not planning to be for awhile, nor am I hinting at it.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 28, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 84 Comments.

  1. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  2. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  3. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  4. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  5. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  6. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  7. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  8. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  9. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.

    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.

      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  10. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.
    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.
      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

  11. I’ve always loved the name Adair, though I couldn’t tell you where I heard it from. I certainly don’t know anybody by that name. I am a huge fan of naming your kids somewhat abnormal things. Like, I would probably name all of my [hypothetical] children after heroes and heroines (and, let’s face it, probably some pretty awesome villains) in sci-fi/fantasy novels. However, I am not so much of a fan of people who name their children after random objects/nouns just for the sake of something different (and I realize that Hunter probably falls into that category). The entire point of naming your children something weird is that after surviving the annoyance of high school, they will have character AND a really beautiful name. Nobody wants to get their ass kicked just so that they can be called Stony or Juniper for the rest of their lives.
    Also, I am still so incredibly, indescribably flattered that you would ever consider naming one of your children after me.

    • You should be, confound it. If you don’t have your own kids, I’ll name one of mine after you. I really admire you, Jenny; I think you’d bean awesome role model for my kids.
      Of course, it all might fall down the drain if she doesn’t look like a Genny.

Leave a Reply

