A Perfect Fall Sunday (Though It’s Without My Best Friend)

“I think you should be in a painting,” said a lady in church today. She was referring to my long braid of strawberry blonde hair and my Victorian blouse. Yes, I’m wearing a “puffy shirt” (or so people tell me; the reference is from Seinfield, which I find barely amusing but before my time) today, but I was going for the Lolita look in white today, but as I told the lady, “I’d love to be the subject of a painting.”

(Yes, today is one of those very rare Sundays where Just’In had to work. Needless to say, I was very quiet today.)

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 24, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  2. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  3. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  4. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  5. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  6. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  7. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  8. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

    • No, she’s not a painter. She’s a musician. She was just pointing it out. She’s a very kind lady, caring and observant. I tend to be quiet in our ward, though I don’t know why exactly.

  9. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

  10. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

  11. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

  12. I checked out the lolita linkage. Nice. I could see how you could pull that style off. Except for the punk version doesnt seem very kate to me. But you would look oh so cute as a punk lol. 😀
    Is the lady a painter and asking because she wanted to paint you? (that would be terrific!) Or just pointing it out to you? If I knew how to paint better than I do now I would paint you. ^_^ But I only can paint something by drawing it out in blocks first. And even doing that might take forever since its been a few years lol. And might look terrible as well.

Leave a Reply

