Sigh. This Is Why I’m An Artist; We Just Naturally Don’t Have A Lot of Money.

I have a very frugal money sense. I’ve always had this money sense of mine, except for when my mother insists that she’s buying. And it kicks in even now; now, however, I hope writing this journal entry will help me rationalize my fingers into buying.

Our anniversary is coming up in a few weeks. When thinking of anniversary celebration ideas, I came up with things like going to a play, visiting a bookstore: small activities we do for our usual dates. I think, “It’s only our first anniversary; we just had a huge gala a year ago that I’m glad is over.” But Just’In, while watching a movie, is idly surfing the ‘net; I’m fully involved in the movie (and my hubby just has to multi-task– it’s his nature), and I glance over to his laptop screen next to me during a boring part of the movie and see he’s looking at hotel stats. So I pester and he says he’s doing “nothing,” but awhile later, he asks me what I think of a whole weekend in a different part of the state? I agree that would be fun.

Fast-forward to weeks later. I hear several things regarding anniversaries, the most prominent one being from Bob and Mary. They think anniversaries are extremely important and mention as an innocuous fact that the gift for the first anniversary is paper. I mention I could get Just’In a book. We have lots of books, and we love books. It would be perfect. They love the idea, but I get the idea that it has to be an out-of-the-ordinary book. So thus I remember Just’In mentioning a few days ago that eventually, he’d really like a certain collection of books. I won’t mention specifics for fear he might scan through this, but it seemed perfect timing.

Yes, I’m trying to talk myself into buying this set of books. Looking at the price makes me pale, I’m sure, even though I can’t see my face, but in comparison, it is equal to other financial feats. I have the money in my checking account. There’s not a problem there. Just’In will easily empty this amount of money for the hotel room, meals, and gas to and from out of his side of the bank account. He spent more than this much money on our wonderful honeymoon just last year. He just bought me a dishwasher without flinching. And if I order it now, it will come in time, and I’ll be able to get it without him noticing because nowadays, I check the mail and bring it in.

I just have to keep all this in mind as I buy the books.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 15, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 60 Comments.

  1. I totally understand! I am the same way that you are about money, whereas Hunter bought me a plane ticket for Valetine’s Day without thinking twice. And now, our 1-yr anniversary is coming up (clearly not the same as yours, what with the whole being married and all, but still), and I am having the same dilemma about the whole ‘gift’ issue. Part of it is because I have no idea what sort of scale I should be operating on. *sigh* I have a project that I am working on for him, that I hope will be a really nice gift, without costing a small fortune. Good luck with your book buying, I am sure that he will love it 🙂

  2. I totally understand! I am the same way that you are about money, whereas Hunter bought me a plane ticket for Valetine’s Day without thinking twice. And now, our 1-yr anniversary is coming up (clearly not the same as yours, what with the whole being married and all, but still), and I am having the same dilemma about the whole ‘gift’ issue. Part of it is because I have no idea what sort of scale I should be operating on. *sigh* I have a project that I am working on for him, that I hope will be a really nice gift, without costing a small fortune. Good luck with your book buying, I am sure that he will love it 🙂

  3. I totally understand! I am the same way that you are about money, whereas Hunter bought me a plane ticket for Valetine’s Day without thinking twice. And now, our 1-yr anniversary is coming up (clearly not the same as yours, what with the whole being married and all, but still), and I am having the same dilemma about the whole ‘gift’ issue. Part of it is because I have no idea what sort of scale I should be operating on. *sigh* I have a project that I am working on for him, that I hope will be a really nice gift, without costing a small fortune. Good luck with your book buying, I am sure that he will love it 🙂

  4. I know it might sound silly, like you have to pray about what colour to wear to work each morning or something, but I knew Oliver really really wanted this certain type of sword for our reception, and the moment I looked it up on ebay it was going for maybe half what it’s worth and had 12 minutes left. Oliver had a really good new job, but moving across the country and getting married rings up a lot of expenses. He didn’t have enough to buy the sword until his next paycheck, but I did have enough in the fund to pay for the reception. I just didn’t know how my parents would feel about me spending it on this sword. They’d never understand what it would mean to Oliver. But it all seemed too perfect, and he’d been searching for the perfect sword for weeks. I said a quiet prayer in my heart to make sure I was doing the right thing, and then I got it.

    A month later it turns out I got the sword for free. The seller on ebay had it ensured and just the tip of the sheath was damaged in shipping. He got a full refund from the company, and credited it to my account.
    I’m not saying the same thing will happen with these books, but if you really feel these would mean a lot to him, listen to the spirit, and it still feels right, go for it. You can’t regret it. 🙂

  5. I know it might sound silly, like you have to pray about what colour to wear to work each morning or something, but I knew Oliver really really wanted this certain type of sword for our reception, and the moment I looked it up on ebay it was going for maybe half what it’s worth and had 12 minutes left. Oliver had a really good new job, but moving across the country and getting married rings up a lot of expenses. He didn’t have enough to buy the sword until his next paycheck, but I did have enough in the fund to pay for the reception. I just didn’t know how my parents would feel about me spending it on this sword. They’d never understand what it would mean to Oliver. But it all seemed too perfect, and he’d been searching for the perfect sword for weeks. I said a quiet prayer in my heart to make sure I was doing the right thing, and then I got it.

    A month later it turns out I got the sword for free. The seller on ebay had it ensured and just the tip of the sheath was damaged in shipping. He got a full refund from the company, and credited it to my account.
    I’m not saying the same thing will happen with these books, but if you really feel these would mean a lot to him, listen to the spirit, and it still feels right, go for it. You can’t regret it. 🙂

  6. I know it might sound silly, like you have to pray about what colour to wear to work each morning or something, but I knew Oliver really really wanted this certain type of sword for our reception, and the moment I looked it up on ebay it was going for maybe half what it’s worth and had 12 minutes left. Oliver had a really good new job, but moving across the country and getting married rings up a lot of expenses. He didn’t have enough to buy the sword until his next paycheck, but I did have enough in the fund to pay for the reception. I just didn’t know how my parents would feel about me spending it on this sword. They’d never understand what it would mean to Oliver. But it all seemed too perfect, and he’d been searching for the perfect sword for weeks. I said a quiet prayer in my heart to make sure I was doing the right thing, and then I got it.
    A month later it turns out I got the sword for free. The seller on ebay had it ensured and just the tip of the sheath was damaged in shipping. He got a full refund from the company, and credited it to my account.
    I’m not saying the same thing will happen with these books, but if you really feel these would mean a lot to him, listen to the spirit, and it still feels right, go for it. You can’t regret it. 🙂

  7. I know it might sound silly, like you have to pray about what colour to wear to work each morning or something, but I knew Oliver really really wanted this certain type of sword for our reception, and the moment I looked it up on ebay it was going for maybe half what it’s worth and had 12 minutes left. Oliver had a really good new job, but moving across the country and getting married rings up a lot of expenses. He didn’t have enough to buy the sword until his next paycheck, but I did have enough in the fund to pay for the reception. I just didn’t know how my parents would feel about me spending it on this sword. They’d never understand what it would mean to Oliver. But it all seemed too perfect, and he’d been searching for the perfect sword for weeks. I said a quiet prayer in my heart to make sure I was doing the right thing, and then I got it.
    A month later it turns out I got the sword for free. The seller on ebay had it ensured and just the tip of the sheath was damaged in shipping. He got a full refund from the company, and credited it to my account.
    I’m not saying the same thing will happen with these books, but if you really feel these would mean a lot to him, listen to the spirit, and it still feels right, go for it. You can’t regret it. 🙂

  8. I understand your feelings on spending money. I do enjoy shopping, but I really love that feeling of looking at the money I saved up.
    I think tho, in this situation, it would be good to listen to your gut about the books. Your women’s intuition will let you know if its a wise purchase at the moment or not. 🙂

  9. I understand your feelings on spending money. I do enjoy shopping, but I really love that feeling of looking at the money I saved up.
    I think tho, in this situation, it would be good to listen to your gut about the books. Your women’s intuition will let you know if its a wise purchase at the moment or not. 🙂

  10. I understand your feelings on spending money. I do enjoy shopping, but I really love that feeling of looking at the money I saved up.
    I think tho, in this situation, it would be good to listen to your gut about the books. Your women’s intuition will let you know if its a wise purchase at the moment or not. 🙂

  11. I understand your feelings on spending money. I do enjoy shopping, but I really love that feeling of looking at the money I saved up.
    I think tho, in this situation, it would be good to listen to your gut about the books. Your women’s intuition will let you know if its a wise purchase at the moment or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

