And Along With That, The Newest Enya CD, Just While He Was At It

I’m remembering a moment because of a conversation co-workers and I had about soccer. The conversation itself is rather inane so it’s not worth mentioning, but my moment has very much to do with soccer.

I was a kid, probably eight or nine, and I had joined a soccer team just for the sake of exploring to see whether I liked it or not. I had decided early that I did not like it, but my parents wouldn’t let me quit because they were trying to teach me that you should stick with somnething you’ve started. (And yet later, in my teenage years with other activities, they told me I could quit if I wanted to. Now I honestly believed they just didn’t want to waste all the money they spent during registration and uniforms and such, but parents are hypocrite humans too) You know it’s sad when you get into the car excitedly after practice because you kicked the ball. Not scored a goal, but I got to kick the ball. Once.

Anyway, now that all the background is presented, my moment is the last soccer game of the season. This isn’t a playoffs of any sorts, considering all the teams just rotated who played who in the age group, so we were just playing another team. I was positioned in right field (or whatever it’s called in soccer) and my job was to stay there until the ball came to my general vicinity, and thus I was usually a spectator, which is why I mildly enjoy watching soccer nowadays. However, this last game, it was pouring rain. The field was all mud and I was miserable, so much that I refused to move, whether the ball ame near or not. I knew we were having a pizza party and a trophy presentation after, and that was the only reason I was standing on the field. No matter how much my parents and the fans yelled from the sidelines, I didn’t think it worth enough to move.

In happier news, I came home fro work to find a dishwasher sitting in the corner of the apartment. We’d been discussing getting a dishwasher; Just’In had one all picked out and measured, and it was on clearance at work and he gets a really nice discount because he works there, but me being the tightwad that I am, had been juggling the idea heavily. We didn’t have enough space, I didn’t want to spend the money, blahblahblah. Well, a few days ao I moved the trashcan to another spot in the kitchen to clean the floor and saw that the trashcan’s new spot wasn’t too offensive and told Just’In “Sure, Why Not?” was the closest I could get to “Yes, Let’s Buy It” and he should before I talked myself out of it. I suppose I wasn’t expecting it to be so soon, but they just HAPPENED to have it in stock… So now I have a white, shiny, new dishwashing replacement that I’m considering naming sitting in the corner of my apartment.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 8, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 72 Comments.

  1. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  2. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  3. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  4. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  5. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  6. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  7. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  8. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  9. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  10. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  11. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  12. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  13. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  14. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  15. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  16. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  17. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  18. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.

    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  19. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.
    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  20. Soccer. hmmm. i remember playing soccer as a kid. although i was the goalie. i remember enjoying it until the girls grew up enough to start getting mean lol.
    oooooo a dishwasher!!!! i looove those things. i think it comes from me always having to do dishies as a kid….not sure.

    • I remember both… Having to do dishes by hand because we had a dishwasher in the house, but it was broken and my parents were too poor to fix it or replace it…We had an assembly line what with the small family we had. Someone washed, someone rinsed, and someone dried and put away. My favorite was always the last job, just because the dish towel felt cool. Later on in other houses, we had a dishwasher and each of us had a dishes night and we all complained and dragged our feet on that night. Now it’s just me who does dishes. We’ve split up the housework between the two of us: I do the dishes and cook, and Just’In cleans the bathroom and takes out the trash. It works out, in the end.

  21. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  22. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  23. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

  24. lol…who replaced me and holly at work? you’re still at the testing center, right?

    • Nobody replaced anybody, we all just have longer shifts. It’s just me, Sharae, Eric, Alan, and Mike. Are you coming back in the fall?

      • i want to, but i don’t think i can because becky didn’t say anything to me about it. so, i don’t know =\

      • Dude, you know how laid back she is here. Just come in as soon as you get in town or whatever and ask her if she wants you to work for her for Fall. The worst she can say is “No, I already have everyone I need, Sorry.” She’s not a mean person, so she won’t shove it in your face or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

