Brought to You By The Letter R (For Red)

So I was walking to work today and I was startled by a guy on a bike pulling up next to me. He said, “Hey, mama,” which freaked me out a bit, but then hopped off his bike and started walking alongside me. He gave me a red Powerade bottle, not opened yet, and told me it was for me. I thanked him, even though I don’t like Powerade or Gatorade, and made a mental note to give it to either my co-worker (who always has a bottle of stuff to sip) or my husband. This guy, who is Hispanic and has very broken English, asks my name, tells me his, and asks me if I was waiting for the bus. I told him I was, but it didn’t come or I was too late for it, so I walked instead. He laughed and continued very small talk until I had to turn the corner to get to work. It wasn’t a very long walk, and I don’t think he was expecting he to turn the corner because he stood there looking a little forlorn and said, “Hey. Phone number?” I walked back to him while waving my left hand (with my wedding ring) and laughing and told him, “Sorry. I’m married,” and then walked away.

How very amusing. And Just’In got something out of it, too. If the male race of Ogden keeps at it, I’ll have broken a great number of the hearts of the available selection by the time I move out.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 27, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  2. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  3. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  4. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  5. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  6. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  7. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  8. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  9. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  10. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  11. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  12. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  13. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  14. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  15. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  16. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  17. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  18. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  19. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  20. Awww. Poor guy. At least he was a gentlemen and gave you something to refresh yourself… I guess. hehe.

  21. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  22. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛

    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂

    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?

      Bah.

  23. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛
    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂
    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?
      Bah.

  24. You must be one hot mama! Go go kate, break those hearts. 😛
    But isnt it fun when random people walk with you and just talk? Or maybe only I enjoy strangers talking to me…as long as they arent creepy. 🙂
    *back to work*

    • I do think it’s cool, but it’s always disappointing when they reveal they’re just trying to pick you up. Why do you make it that complicated? Can’t we just walk and talk and then part as strangers who know each other minutely?
      Bah.

Leave a Reply

