A Fleeting Thought of High Amusement

I’m suddenly remembering a small exchange that happened in church yesterday. I was doodling while listening to the last speaker; I often doodle just to keep myself awake. My doodles usually consist of snippets of the talk I’m currently listening to, silouetted cartoons of people and stuff that’s running around in my brain, phrases picked especially to practice lettering, or just abstract doodles; usually my goal is to fill an entire half page of paper before going on to a blank side, and I’ve doodled for so long that it’s lots of fun to look at past doodle pages. Anyway, I was doodling the word “Snu” (pronounced “snuh”) in really big letters. Just’In’s best friend was sitting next to me (and his wife is on the other side of him); he is often entertained by my doodles and was then peering over my shoulder. He asked me, “Snu?” And Just’In and I both looked at him and said, “Snu,” with the tone of, “Well, yeah. We use snu as a obsenity to express disgust or some similiar feeling, but it really is a nonsense word.” So Just’In’s best friend lifted an eyebrow, shrugged, said, “Snu,” meaning, “Oh,” and went back to listening to the speaker.

Another note: I love the expression of lifting one eyebrow. It’s just so expressive it makes me laugh. I can do it with lots of effort, but my eyebrow isn’t nearly as expressive as say, oh, Jenny’s or Just’In’s or Rene’s.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 26, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  2. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  3. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  4. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  5. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  6. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

  7. Having a word with someone that only you two really know the implied meaning is just too much fun. And I wish I had the good eye brow thing as well….oh well. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

