The Ever-Present, Some Sort of Conflict

So I got another job to occupy myself during the summer. It’s a secretarial position with the usual answering phones, memorizing people’s names and faces, and copying/faxing/printing/data entry stuff, along with other stuff like handling all the key paperwork for all of campus. I wasn’t told specifically what people would be calling about when I interviewed for the job, and it took me awhile to figure it out.

I’m the one who gets the call when a toilet has overflowed, an elevator is stuck, a car needs fixing, or somebody wants to repaint the office. I think this odd because it never occurred to me what kind of action is taken when such a thing happens. Well, someone has to call the plumber or the elevator-fixing company and tell them where to go. That would be me. I am, once again, the in-between person.

I have come to a dilemma, though. I knew this would happen eventually, I suppose, but now it has. I know I can’t work both jobs and go to school when the fall semester rolls around. I have to pick one. This new secretary job pays a significant amount more than the testing center, but the testing center is perfect for doing homework and is often my only allowance for surfing the ‘net during school. There are also pros and cons to be considered, ones that make a whole complicated mess of balances and of being an adult. Here’s a small sampling of them: Though there’s the money thing to consider, it’s also not nearly important as it probably should be. The money I make goes straight into savings; because Just’In works full time, my job is not paying any bills and we’re not nearly as dependent on it as we might be otherwise. Thus I could take the testing center job and not feel too badly. Also, even though it seems the secretary position will leave me little time for anything but work, the boss has made it clear that the schedule is extremely flexible; there are five of us who work the same job at the front desk, and we just switch off. The boss tells me we are welcome, when the time comes, to call in and tell her we can’t come to work because we’re stressed about papers and homework.

sigh. It’ll be a small battle raging in my head for the next couple of months.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 19, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  2. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  3. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  4. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  5. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  6. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  7. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  8. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  9. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  10. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  11. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

  12. Call me crazy….but I wouldnt mind a job like that testing center job you have. (If I could afford it) It seems like it helps keep yours stress down and that is always good. And doing homework at work is awesome. Plus, think about how more busy the secretary position will be once school starts back up in full swing. But on the other hand more money means more savings and more savings mean extra money to use on fun things like vacations and the such.

Leave a Reply

