Stolen shamelessly from chiana606

  • birds:
    I have often had, in my youth, flying dreams. In my flying dreams, I am started in a large field and there is always some sort of obstacle in front of me like a line of trees or telephone wires. My take-off is always that of a goose: flap my arms hard enough and run quickly enough that I lift off the ground and clear the obstacle. Sometimes I had people chasing after me; sometimes I’m running off a roof or a tree branch to escape or explore. I don’t have these flying dreams anymore, regrettably, and I really want to know why. They were rather glorious dreams, and I miss them. In that missing, I have instead, a fascination with birds. I can picture myself as a canary or some similiarly small, yellow, pleasant-sounding bird.

    Listening to Just’In’s flying dreams are interesting. He always sprouts wings, always eagle wings or falcon wings, in place of his arms and lifts straight from standing position.

  • candles:
    In my teenage years I lit my candles often in the small sanctuary of a room I had created for myself. I played with wax and often painted or collaged only by candlelight. I had spread the candles all throughout the room so they lit it equally. I was always safe with my flame and only very rarely set off the smoke alarm that sat right outside my bedroom door. It was all very romantic, but it turned my siblings all into mild pyros, and myself into one as well. If I had anything bigger than just miniscule wax stuff to play with, I took it out to the backyard in the middle of the basketball court (right next to the sand box for quick access to fire extinguishing equipment) and snuck my siblings out with me.

    I still have candles distributed throughout our apartment, each spaced equally and safely: not against walls or under curtains. I haven’t lit them yet, but it’s just become habit, I think.

  • collaging:
    This art form developed from a church activity as a teenager with a bunch of girls. Needless to say, we demolished the wedding dress magazine to shreds. Now, it’s developed into something much tighter than pasting one image on one page just because it’s cool. It’s become a process, and nowadays I’ll sit down and rip (from magazines) and trim (my findings) with a specific theme or idea or person in mind. I’m on my third book of collaging and almost finished completely the first book because there are always little spaces to put little stuff in the first book. I consider collaging to be an art work in and of itself, and if I were forced to be a visual artist, collaging would be my medium.
  • fantasy:
    I enjoy writing and reading it. My own work seems to lean much more toward fantasy (faeries and other fictional organic things) than science fiction (technology-based worlds). My chosen profession is writing, and thus I’ve taken lots of workshops on the subject. Right now, I’m taking a liking to the editing position of writing, which is much more technical, but we’ll see.
  • long hair:
    I have it; I prefer it, as does Just’In. He tells me I can’t cut my hair any shorter than my shoulders, which I’m okay with. Right now, my hair is to the middle of my back, and I usually wear it in a braid. It’s always been strawberry blonde, and the blonde part is always shifting, thus my natural highlights are never in the same place. It keeps things exciting.
  • pale green:
    I like the color. My colors for my wedding were light orange and pale green (or sea foam green, as opposed to sage green) with accents of off-white (like cream, I suppose) and silver. I look good in pale green (thus why my veil was that color) and my favorite color is orange. Plus, pale green goes with the whole lightgreendryad thing.
  • sandwiches:
    I find myself eating sanwiches a lot, at home and in restarants. Thus concludes I must like them.
  • sign language:
    I speak it. I spoke it when I was young, completely stopped for awhile, and then started up again in the fourth grade because my teacher wanted the class to sing a song in sign language for a performance. So we brought one of my audiologists in and she taught us. I had to sign right-handed because everyone else in the class was right-handed and it looked weird for only me to sign left. So I can thus easily switch speaking hands. I’ve taught numerous friends basic sign language in high school, and am now using the lauguage to count as my language credits in college. Fun stuff. It utilizes my propensities to be very tactile and very animated.
  • the moon:
    The moon is my dear friend. I sing her song to her sometimes. She is a comfort and an inspiration.
  • turtles:
    Just’In often takes on the persona of a turtle. Turtles are well-thought out individuals, sensible creatures, earthy souls. Not to mention he occasioally looks likea turtle in face. Plus, I have a giant stuffed turtle he gave me for Christmas when we were dating named Murphy. After Murphy’s Law.
  • Enter your LJ user name, and 10 interests will be selected from your interest list.

    About The Original Kate

    Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

    Posted on June 9, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

    1. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    2. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    3. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    4. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    5. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    6. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    7. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    8. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    9. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    10. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.

      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    11. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.
      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    12. That is so cool! I just did this on my LJ too.
      Things I have in common with your intrests:
      birds (birds are my favorite animal – esspecially cockatiels/cockatoos), long hair (I have a long hair fetish too… my hair is mid-back – on its way to my waist/hips again), sign language (I have taken ASL classes too – used it with my son that had speach impediments), & obviously the moon (Im a moon gazer and am fascinated with its effects/link to our bodies as women)! If you don’t mind me asking – what are the words to your song you sing to the Moon?

    Leave a Reply

