Red Rock, Blue-Green Water, and New Birds

Yes, the Grand Canyon Trip was fun… in a grueling, hot, painful, panting, dirty sort of way. My knee got screwed up somewhere along the way, and we were thankful to be back a day early so we could recupe from the trip by getting a new MVP pass and watching three movies a day. After not watching the most recently released movies for seven months because we’re so busy and we haven’t time, there is a lot of material to catch up on. However, despite the heat and the blisters and the knee and the recuperation afterwards, it was good to see my family and the waterfalls were worth it. I remember doing the trip for the first time four years ago. I was sixteen, seventeen ish, full of dreams and stars and romantic stuff. Feeling lonely because the dating atmosphere was very thin. Taking pictures of all the classically scenic stuff while my family made fun of me for stopping so often (and yet my pictures were the ones that were all hung on the dining room wall), sitting on a rock ledge in the middle of water and waterfalls, dreaming for hours about all sorts of silly and fanciful stuff, stuff like how a guy who thinks I’m gorgeous will find me on this rock and be taken aback by how striking I am (Yeah, I know. Blech). How much I’ve changed in four years. I never would have thought my next trip would be with a husband, and yet in this trip, my dad was very impressed by my speed in hiking out of the canyon; the solution is easy. Just have a husband in hand for support the whole time. Someone to talk to who’s not verbose like my dad and who thinks a lot like me.

On a totally unrelated thought, there is a species of bird here that I hadn’t ever seen before. I’ve seen pigeons, crows, robins, and even an occasional annoying jay, but these birds were curious. I asked a botany teacher of mine and he told me they were magpies. The ‘net and Just’In confirm it. I know magpies are considered common birds, but they’re a fascination to someone who’s never seen one before. They must not live in Albuquerque or Carlsbad or Cedar City. Either that, or I simply hadn’t seen them before. That’s a definite possiblity. I usually don’t see birds unless they’re obviously right in front of me or someone patiently points them out. Nevertheless, I now have an odd interest in magpies. My question for you, dear reader, is this: I have heard the cry of a bird that sounds like a child coming from the trees, and I know there is a bird that cries like that. Is it the newfound magpie?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 30, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  2. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  3. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  4. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  5. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  6. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  7. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  8. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  9. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  10. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  11. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

  12. Once apon a time, I believed that magpies would be the death of me. Growing up, from about March to October, I would more than often awake to the sound of what I think is about the most obnoxious bird on the planet. I lost much sleep to those birds back then. They would constantly destroy the fruits of our garden for their pleasure. One of my fond memories when I was a teenager and my cat actually pounced on a magpie (picture a cat pouncing on one of those fairly large birds) and it killed it. I know that is a horrible thing to say, but to be honest, those birds have been the greatest pests in my life and I really didn’t care much for the bird that made me loose my sleep. I’m happy for your new found fascination with these birds. I only hope that your opinion of them stays far away from mine.

Leave a Reply

