Sitting in my PJs Against the Headboard On Our Bed (In the Usual Place)

Okay, I’m breaking my own rule to myself and posting about current life today because I’ve been telling everyone I know elsewhere who might be concerned about my health. I had a successful colonoscopy yesterday. After fasting all of Wednesday and the majority of Thursday, I can now say that all I need is more fiber in my life. Dad always asks me after big leaps in life, “What have you learned from this?” As corny as it is, I’ve been raised with that mentality, so here is my report. I’ve learned that cravings are important and that they should be listened to because they tell you of the small nuances that need adjusting in your body. I was craving a smoothie with lots of fruits that provide fiber last week, but I told myself, “Nah. My blender is dirty. I’ll make myself a smoothie when I get around to dishes.” Needless to say, it’s still sitting in my sink, but my one task for today, while recovering from my two-day fast, is to do the dishes. We’re preparing for our trip to the Grand Canyon next week as well (Just’In’s never seen it; we passed by it on our way back up to Utah from our wedding and it was full of fog) but that won’t get done until Just’In gets back from work at 5ish. Most days I have tasks for me and tasks for us…

Yes, the Grand Canyon will be fun. My family went four years ago at Spring Break. We brought the four oldest kids and the parents. Now everyone in the family is big enough to go, and so we are. We’re also taking along three girls who served their missions in Carlsbad at one point and fell in love with my family. And one of their brothers. So it’s a great migration of which I’ve made lots and lots of phone calls all week to al of these people. And Just’In and I haven’t packed yet. Phew.

But yes. If you see a lack of Kate all next week, you know why. I’m chilling in Havasupai with family and friends. Right after a colonoscopy and an eye appointment I had on Tuesday (shudder). It’s worth it to know I have a clean bill of health.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 19, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  2. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  3. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  4. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  5. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  6. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  7. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  8. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  9. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  10. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.

    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.

      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  11. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.
    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.
      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  12. I’m glad you turned out to be happy.
    Cravings can be tricky things. As in, I know that often they’re important, but I can’t quite believe that I should eat chocolate every time I want the stuff.

    • Quite true. Most of the time, I find, my body wants something that is in chocolate that my body is familiar with thruogh chocolate. Does that make any sense? Or chocolate is a comfort food that I just want more of the time in the winter than in the summer.
      Chocolate is a mystery, and yet we love it so very much.

  13. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  14. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  15. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  16. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  17. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  18. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  19. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  20. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  21. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  22. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.

      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  23. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.
      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

  24. I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. But I am sorry you had to get a colonoscopy tho. Those are far from fun. At least you can have fun in AZ without health worries!!

    • Right. And now I’ve got more health worries. Blisters and trouble standing up and walking because of stiff leg muscles? Yeah.
      Oh, well. It was fun… in a painful, scorching, dirt-full sort of way.

Leave a Reply

