The Wow Moment of the Week (Ready?)

While walking home from dabbling in the job market, I saw a guy mowing a lawn. This in itself is not particularly extraordinary; just a middle-aged guy with his shirt on and a hat and jeans and sneakers, standing next to a lawn mower that’s done a couple strips of this lawn and has its bag lying open on the grass. In the spring when many people mow their lawns because the grass is growing. What was significant was that he was mowing the lawn that was in front of this empty, run-down, for-sale-with-the-huge-sign-in-the-lawn business building. I thought he might know something about this building and the construction that wants to happen there (the big sign in the lawn advertises the VACANT and INACTIVE building as being underway with remodeling efforts. Just a little odd), so I walked past the huge sign and up the lawn and up to him. I won’t relay the whole conversation, but I found out he’s not an investor in the building or one of the names on the huge sign, and he’s not the landscaper they hired to mow the lawn. He’s just a guy who lives in the area who thought the long grass on this lawn was annoying, so he packed up his own personal lawn mower and was in the middle of mowing it. Just because.

I met a true Samaritan today. Huh. Cool.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 11, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  2. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  3. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  4. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  5. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  6. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  7. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  8. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  9. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  10. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  11. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

  12. Wow. That is amazing. I didnt know any of those were still around.

Leave a Reply

