A Ramble of Thoughts or Freewriting

I feel like posting, but I’m not sure exactly what I want to write, so I’m just going to go for it.

I just had a good conversation with another friend of mine. She’s gotten off her mission a few months ago and she sounds more mature than she was before. Still not as knowledgable and with not as broad a vocabulary, still funny spelling, but she feels older. Wiser. More experienced in the ways of the spirit. She makes me feel proud, like stand-up-in-the-stands-and-arms-up-in-the-air-cheer-for-her proud. She said some deep things to me, and she has some deep insights about the direction of life and gaining meaning from the everyday doldrums of our lives. I was caught off-guard because I’ve always had conversations of people we both know and Just’In (because she dated him and I coached them both through the relationship, once upon a time) and our talks have always been very lighthearted. When we spent time with each other, we’d feed off each other’s positive energy and both feel incredibly joyful and liberated. And it’s amazing now. Because she tells me she has too MANY friends where she lives and she’s not travelling forward in her life, and thus she’s going to transfer. Man. I wish I had that problem. I don’t feel like I have enough friends. Of course, I realize that’s because A) I’m married and the social life tends to slow WAAAY down when you’re married and B) Right when I got married, I moved here. New university, new town. And I’m still in that first year of school here, even though I’m a second-semester junior.

Speaking of school, Just’In was frustrated about it today. He thinks he’s going to have to take summer classes if he wants to get done in two years’ time. He doesn’t want to take summer classes. I feel his pain. I’ve avoided summer classes thus far, but then again, I’m just not the type of person to plan out everything school-wise in advance. I’ll just keep plugging away at the requireds until I’m done, scheduling a semester at a time. I’ve done three years, and I’ve got two more years to finish because we’ll be around for that long. I remember senior year of HS. I just kind of took what I wanted. Of course, in high school, they planned it all out for you. But so far I’m doing okay with not planning it out. I also feel his pain because it means we have less freedom to vacation this summer. But school is important. Education is important.

And suddenly I feel like dolling myself up. I’ll do that tonight after food and for homework. It figures. Today was one of those days where you skip hygiene because the paper is way more important. Hooray for deoderant.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on April 19, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

