An Odd Perk

Today when I walked into work, I had just clocked in and hadn’t even hung up my jacket, when the fire alarm went off. So we all walked out (after my co-workers closed up and locked up everything so no one would steal a test when everyone’s out of the room–I forgot to help, having just arrived) and stood around outside until the fire marshal yelled that it was safe to come in. Apparantly someone had burned a bag of popcorn in the one weak excuse for a microwave in the building.

And I got paid to stand outside and chat with people. I love my job.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on April 18, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  2. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  3. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  4. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  5. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  6. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  7. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  8. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  9. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  10. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  11. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  12. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  13. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  14. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  15. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  16. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  17. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  18. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.

      Yeah. Good times.

  19. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.
      Yeah. Good times.

  20. isn’t it nice when things like that happen? Usually here at school though, we only have fire alarms go off in the middle of the night when it’s below zero outside and raining.

    • Yeah, I remember in the dorms at the school I transferred from, we had a fire drill at 11 at night. I don’t remember why the alarms were set off (probably just old, considering if an alarm went off in one building, all the buildings that were in that row of dorms had their alarms go off) but it was February and freezing cold. We were all standing in blankets and PJs and my roomies were afraid I wouldn’t wake up to the alarm and we stood out there for half an hour.
      Yeah. Good times.

  21. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  22. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  23. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

  24. What a fun part of a job. I’m sure it doesnt happen a lot but when it does how fun lol. I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years and we have never had anything like that happen…we even had a gas leak and we still had to work lol.

Leave a Reply

