My Lazy Eye is Twitching Uncontrollably Today

I know I’m having particular trouble today, but this discourse has been bubbling in my unconscious for awhile and has finally surfaced into thoughts that I can put to words. I’m beginning to seriously question my individuality. In high school, it was something I was extremely proud of and showed it in my physical appearance often, when I didn’t go to school without a shower and in thrown-on clothes. I still do occasionally play dress-up, but I think it surprised me today how perfectly ordinary I look the majority of the time. I’m in jeans or pants most of the time, with just a shirt and a sweater, and even though my personal choices lean toward long hair in a braid and no makeup most of the time, I look more normal than I have chosen to be in the past. Is this because I’m married and my rules of modesty are a little tighter and I don’t care as much what other people think? Is it because I’m in Utah and there aren’t nearly as many individuals here, so my dress standards have become more conservative because it takes less to stand out? Or is it just winter and I’m concerned about warmth than standing out? Maybe I just need to make another trip to the thrift store to freshen up my wardrobe. Get rid of some frumpy stuff, find some additions I’m excited about, make another dig for finds like a Joseph’s coat, a vest with multipatterned stuff and, now come to think of it, sweats with a very similiar multipatterned theme. Buy some patches and some buttons…

Now all I have to do is find the time. sigh. Anyone have any ideas for patches and buttons that are unique?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on February 25, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  2. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  3. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  4. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  5. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  6. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  7. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  8. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  9. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  10. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  11. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

  12. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while now. I blame it on getting fat. It’s hard to be fashionable and fat at the same time. Yet another great motivator for getting in shape.

Leave a Reply

