An Epiphany in a Very Large Dose; A Snap

Yesterday I had what my mom calls a “Wow Moment.” I was standing at the bus stop… Here. Let me try it in poetry instead.

Stand in the snow
look down the upward-arching street
(familiar sight: hypnotizing
watching the flow of life)
wait once again for my ride
to where duty, responsibility calls
and I hear a siren
two sirens, actually,
and I have the response
that everyone along that road has:
“Where’s it coming from?”

One behind me and one in front
(we do live across from a fire station, after all)
two opposite directions
and I blink

and every car has pulled
to the same side of the road
the flow has suddenly stopped itself
for the necessity of someone’s health
someone’s benefit
one small case for life
and the speeding, flashing cars
(Superman to the rescue!)
rush through to their destination

the flow haltingly
like rusted gears
grinding back into motion
begins once again
and I am confident
in the human race once more.

~~

On that same note, today has been a very positive day. I had the presence of mind and desire to want to be prettier than usual today. I got my hair cut yesterday (with the usual panic that comes with haircuts and Just’In frantically trying to placate me) and it’s short enough that I can crimp it and the weight of itself doesn’t straighten it out. I’ve gotten so many compliments today, and because I also did eye makeup, I got some very seductive looks and stares in the almost-all-male class of Playwriting. It made me feel good, even though my heart is completely won over by someone else already. He laughed when I related the incident to him, but he was pleased with the effect as well. And that makes me even more happy.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 31, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

