I’m getting to this stage I get to every year; I’m getting sick of snow, sick of cold, sick of wearing layers, sick of winter. My bones ache way too often and all I want to do is curl up in a ball and just lay there in our green courderoy lovesack, covered by an afghan and devour books. It makes me wish we had a fireplace, but that’ll come in due time. Right now, we have an eccentric heater that heats the apartment warmer than what the thermostat is set to, and then lets it get really, really cold- colder than what the thermostat is set to- and then wheezes back to life. I think it’s funny.

I toss at night and rarely get a good night’s sleep; it’s not the mattress or my teddy bear; it’s just winter. That and the combination of our wheezy heater starting up in the middle of the night so we don’t need all the blankets we have on our bed, and the fact that then cold sets in and we do need the blankets. And I just don’t sleep well in winter. I want blue skies and green anything; when I stand at the bus stop I kick away the snow under my feet into the street until I can see patches of green underneath. That’s the funny thing about Utah. The grass stays green all winter. In New Mexico, the grass turns brown and then maybe it snows and the grass still stays brown. It didn’t rain or snow in New Mexico this winter so they’ll burn up come summer and they won’t get to go camping at all. I laugh when Utahns tell me they’re in a serious drought.

However, we’re supposed to get dumped on this weekend, or so everyone tells me. We got dumped on this week and it snowed last night. Lightly, but it still snowed. I think snow is silently lovely when it falls, but the aftermath of snow makes me hate it altogether. Brown slush that I have to step in, watery slush that leaks through whatever shoes I’m wearing, icy sidewalks, and everything above drips when it starts to melt. Not to mention it rids me of the blue and green I love so much.

Yeah, I’m whining. I’m done.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 21, 2006, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

