Recently, In Pictures

A record of leap day this year– with everyday milk and cereal to record an otherwise ordinary day.

My first tackling of weeds in our new house. As I pulled them up, I had to continually remind myself that weeds are otherwise perfectly acceptable plants growing in the wrong place. I even tried transplanting certain specimens in a pot and taking them inside; no go. These weeds are particular.

We don’t actually play this game; instead, he moves the pieces from one squared compartment to the other, and I make patterns on the game board. And Just’In thought we wouldn’t ever use it when Mary gave it to us.

The first time Toby went out with Daddy to “pick” dandelions, I was excited. “Ooh, bring some back for me, will you? I love dandelions!” A little boy tumbling through the door with a careful handful of these was priceless, even when they graced our table for only a whole day. I was sneezing up a storm while putting them in water; I have become allergic to them.

Sue-Sue, this one’s for you– an appreciation photo of a bag that was specifically designed to keep hearing aid repair stuff and hearing aid batteries. Much better than a browned-by-age plastic baggie. Made by Girl By Aileen in the USA. Hooray!

I’m told marigolds are easy to plant– they were my mom’s weeds as a kid. I had seedlings sprouted by a spray bottle and sheer will. Past tense. I’ve tried this with wheatgrass more than once in the past, and all I got was mold.

A sideboard. A buffet. From a crowded, dark basement of gorgeous antiques–this particular store doesn’t do its furniture the justice it deserves, but it means bargains for us. Even when I have to pester the delivery man to do the job we paid him (and he promised) to do.

We’ve been staring at swatches and are now debating between two particular shades for the dining room. Admittedly, I had fun painting the samples.

Grandpa sent a present after a visit–and for the past few weeks, it has transformed shape and shifted from room to room almost daily. I’m not complaining one bit.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 5, 2012, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love Mastermind! My grandma had it, and I madefun patterns as a little kid, and later learned to play.

    I get a lot of dandelions from my kids. I should work harder to make them beautiful like you did :).

    • The Original Kate

      My grandma gave me this set just a few years ago, when I was frequently over at her house for dinner. It’s clearly been loved; many of the pieces are missing and the hood over the key section is missing. I can imagine my grandma’s boys sitting down with this game and playing a round or two, then throwing the pieces and the gameboard at each other. The image makes me grin maniacally; my siblings and I did the same thing.

      Thank you. The trick is to have the right vase. I get lots of huge, tall vases from flower arrangements that arrive as gifts, but I got this, I think, at a thrift store or a garage sale. It’s short compared to all the rest of the open-mouthed vases I have, and it has a narrow opening at the top. It’s been sitting in apartment cabinets for five years or so, waiting for dandelions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

